Skip to content
June 19, 2013 / NextStepU

Are you in the right place? Top prospects for job hunting

iStock_000000310886We know that choosing your college and major has a lot to do with what job you’ll have at the end of your education. Do you plan on living in the right place to get that dream job you’ve been working so hard to be skilled in? Does the company you’ve been eyeing even have job openings available for new graduates?

According to Direct Employers, a nonprofit HR consortium, these are the top 10 lists for job openings by state, city and company.

Top States with Most Job Openings:
1. California ( www.california.jobs)
2. Texas (www.texas.jobs)
3. New York  (www.newyork.jobs)
4. Pennsylvania (www.pennsylvania.jobs)
5. Florida (www.florida.jobs)
6. Illinois (www.illinois.jobs)
7. Ohio (www.ohio.jobs)
8. Virginia (www.virginia.jobs)
9. Georgia (www.georgia.jobs)
10. Minnesota (www.minnesota.jobs)

Top Cities with Most Job Openings:
1. New York, NY  (www.newyorkmetro.jobs)
2. Houston, TX (www.houston.jobs)
3. Chicago, IL (www.chicago.jobs)
4. Atlanta, GA (www.atlanta.jobs)
5. San Francisco, CA (www.sanfrancisco.jobs)
6. Dallas, TX   (www.dallas.jobs)
7. Washington, DC (www.districtofcolumbia.jobs)
8. Boston, MA (www.boston.jobs)
9. San Diego, CA (www.sandiego.jobs)
10. Los Angeles, CA (www.losangeles.jobs)

Top Companies with the Most Job Openings:
1. Pizza Hut  (www.pizzahut.jobs)
2. CVS Caremark Stores (www.cvs.jobs)
3. McDonald’s (www.mcdonalds.jobs)
4. CyberCoders (www.cybercoders.jobs)
5. Home Depot (www.homedepot.jobs)
6. Kforce (www.kforce.jobs)
7. IBM (www.ibm.jobs)
8. Deloitte (www.deloitte.jobs)
9. Edward Jones (www.edwardjones.jobs)
10. JPMorgan Chase (www.jmorganchase.jobs)

How do your prospects look? Are you setting yourself up for a good job market and excellent chances at landing a job?

Best of luck to you all!

— > For more information and articles on careers, check out NextStepU.com/Careers.

Leave a comment — we'd love to hear from you!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: